Local Talk

Moving to Aberdeen - Clueless

(9 Posts)
LoosingBattle Wed 12-Sep-12 20:21:24

Found out today that Dh has got promotion, great! Only it is in Aberdeen (Portlethen). There is no real reason to stop us going, I am studying (Open University) and work a few hours part time. Salary difference for DH would more than make up for the loss of my wage. We moved out of Glasgow last year after selling our house to live in the country, we couldn't find a house to buy so are still renting - no ties there.

Anyway - what is Aberdeen like? Where would be best to look for houses? The more rural the better but no idea how feasible that is? DH commutes 30 miles each way at the moment so anything less than that would be a bonus.

DD goes to nursery at the moment while I work but I would be a SAHM in Aberdeen, she is 3 in Feb so Primary Schools would be a consideration also. Where we live at the moment she would get a bus the 9 miles to school from P1 so anything better/closer than that would be great!

missymoomoomee Thu 13-Sep-12 14:02:50

Cove bay is really nice (I lived there for 3 years) its not far into aberdeen Loriston Primary/Nursery is only about a 10 minute walk from the furtherest point and is a lovely school. There is a huge park about a 10 minute bus ride away as well. They have playgroups at the 2 community centres too.

zippey Fri 14-Sep-12 10:35:47

Id reccomend Stonehaven, which coincidentally is where I live too. Its a small village about 5 miles away, South, from Portlethen, has its own town centre, lots of things to do - eg parks, swimming, sports centre, town hall etc. It has good train links to Aberdeen. It has a number of nurseries and a high school. Info on Stonehaven http://www.stonehavenguide.net/

Have a look on ASPC www.aspc.co.uk for houses etc

Aberdeen is 5 miles north of Portlethen (Portlethen is in the middle of Aberdeen and Sonehaven) and is a bigger city.

Hope that is of some help.

deste Tue 16-Oct-12 22:58:24