Local Talk

Moving to Frome - tips on schools, nurseries and all things kiddie very welcome!

(30 Posts)
Lexingtonlala Thu 01-Sep-11 22:27:45

Hello! We are moving to Frome and I was wondering if anyone could offer us some insider information, as it were, on things like primary schools, nurseries and toddler groups. I have two boys: a four year old starting school next week and a 16 month old.

I feel nervous about moving my family - especially the four year old at such a key time. Any advice, tips, local knowledge and so on would be really helpful. Are there any schools/nurseries I should avoid? Are there any regular toddler groups? Frome does seem like such a friendly, family sort of place.

Thanks for your help!

RebeccaMumsnet (MNHQ) Wed 07-Sep-11 16:16:24

Frome is lovely, DH and i bought our first house there.
Unfortunately, I have no experience of childcare/schools in Frome as my children where too young but there is a great park and Frome high street has loads of lovely quirky back street shops.

Sorry I can't be of more help, but very jealous, Frome is 'grut lush' as they say grin

Thingiebob Sun 11-Sep-11 21:49:58

I'm bumping this as I may be moving to Frome soon.

Lexingtonlala Wed 14-Sep-11 14:43:00

Thanks Rebecca, glad to hear you have good memories of the place, it's encouraging. It does seem like a top town. And Thingie, you are very welcome to bump this thread! When are you moving?

crikeybadger Sun 18-Sep-11 09:59:32

Another hopeful bump as Frome is somewhere we are considering too.

Went for a little look around yesterday and it seemed to have a good buzz about it and lovely little independent shops on Catherine Hill.

Would be interested to hear about people's experiences of living there, schools, nurseries etc. Also, what are good areas to live in (we prefer older style houses).

Many thanks.

crikeybadger Tue 04-Oct-11 19:29:22

Just wondered how you were getting on with your research Lexingtonlala?