Local Talk

Hospital choices - advice please!

(18 Posts)

Hello!

I am moving to Beds in 2 weeks and am 22 weeks pregnant. I think my choices for the birth are Milton Keynes General or the Luton & Dunstable MLU.

Needless to say I have no experience of either of these and would really appreciate any feedback offered!

Thanks in advance

x

I know MK had a terrible reputation last year, lots of mums were apparently coming over to Bedford from there. So on that basis I'd go for L&D!
HTH

Oh and good luck with the move!

lauzjp Sat 08-Jan-11 08:31:41

If I had a choice of only those 2 hospitals I would pick the L&D, but I had a horrible experience there last year, so would urge you to look around if you have access to a car. Use the NHS choices website to read reviews, ask on other sites too.

I haven't yet summoned the strength to write about it all.. one day..

Thanks both!
captaincalamari I'd heard the same about MK which is why I looked at L&D. I just don't know anyone who has been there and the NHS website can be slightly biased. I think people tend to go on there to say they've had a really bad experience or a really good one and there's not much in between!

lauzjp sorry to hear of your bad experience. I do have a car so I guess I could look further afield. Where would you suggest?

MumInBeds Mon 10-Jan-11 09:15:39

I've had 5 good births with the L&D (4 in, 1 at home) and couldn't fault them for my care but the more recent one for me was 3 years ago and that was the homebirth so a while ago.

www.drfosterhealth.co.uk/birth-guide/ is a good starting place to compare but I'd recommend seeing if you can have a tour of both.

That's a brilliant website, thanks. Just what I have been looking for!

Incidentally, did the L&D have the midwife led unit when you gave birth? It doesn't seem to say they have one on this website but I'm sure they do!