Local Talk

Moving to Birmingham

(12 Posts)
jenwill Wed 14-Mar-12 16:51:11

hi,

I am considering relocation from London to Birmingham. My DH brothers live in Birmingham and my sister lives in Manchester so we are thinking of Birmingham as it has a quicker commute to London if DH needs to work. I Would like somewhere in easy reach of a train station and ideally M6 (visiting sister and nieces). Also the place would need to be child friendly, with lots of activities, as I have a 6month old and nice schools as I am a primary school teacher and would potentially go back to work in September. Finally, I would like a house and garden as I have always lived in a flat.

I have been told by DH's brothers that edgbaston is a good place...would you agree?

I know there have been a few threads about this which I have read and investigated info but if anyone has any more ideas that could help me that would be great.

smile thanks

chocoroo Wed 14-Mar-12 17:09:42

Hello,

I moved to Birmingham about 6 years ago. We initially rented in Harborne which is a lovely area - but very expensive to buy so we moved to Cotteridge (Bournville borders).

Harborne is a great place if you can afford it - lots of bars and restaurants (child friendly) but the nearest station is University which is a little walk away.

We're in Cotteridge now which is full of young families who can't quite afford Bournville! It's decent, has good transport links and has a gorgeous park run by the community. The train station (Kings Norton) is very close, as is Bournville station - they're both on the Cross City line. Schools seem pretty decent round here but obviously Birmingham is a grammar school city so I think they'r emore variable at secondary. Sadly lacking in pubs round here though!

Kings Heath and Moseley are also nice areas - transport links are a bit crap IMO.