Local Talk

Schooling and Moving to Birmingham

(8 Posts)
silentsteel Wed 04-Sep-13 17:31:48

Hi All,

I am new to the midlands area having spent most of my time in Scotland. Last year my work situation changed which means I have been spending most of my time in England, basically around the areas from Shropshire to Birmingham to London.

As this situation is likely to continue I am looking to see move my wife and 3 kids down, rent at first and then perhaps buy a place if we settle in. Hence I would really appreciate some help.

We are looking for decent 3/4 bedroom places to rent in an area which can offer us some of the following:
1. Good commute wise, my work takes me travelling hence I would like to be near M6 / Birmingham International or easily commuteable.

2. Good school area. My son has just started High School so moving here from Scotland a Grammer School is out of the question as he is above the age, but a good state school.

2. My younger children, Daughter who would be able to sit Grammer School test next year, however if she doesn't get selected would go to state school. My youngest is in Primary and is a few years away from High School or 11+ etc but we need a good Primary School recommendation.

I had originally thought of Sutton Coldfied area for renting as it is nearer to M6 however it is a bit of a distance away from Birmingham International should I need to go further down south or to London for work.

So where Sutton is in the mix, I am wondering if there are better alternatives that we as a family could be looking at? Ideally we would be in a nice safe, quiet family area with very good schools Primary / Secondary schools nearby and a good compromise for commute for me from where I can get on M6 to go to Shrewsbury - current workplace or on a good train link if I need to go to down south or up North. (One is allowed to dream)

I appreciate that there is a lot to consider and I am hoping that people on this forum would be able to advise.