Local Talk

Elm Grove Nurseries

(13 Posts)
brightonbug Tue 19-Mar-13 17:16:11

Hi, I am looking at nurseries in the Elm Grove / Lewes Road area. We will need to put DD in nursery for three days a week from January 2014 when she will be one year old.

I'm looking for both recommendations and places to avoid.

I'm a novice at this, don't know if I need to secure a place now, or wait until closer to the time (when we will have a better idea of DD's personality, & whether she would enjoy a smaller or larger nursery).

We looked at Hilltop nursery at the Brighton General (DP works for the NHS so qualifies for a discounted place). It seemed nice, but does anyone have any views on it?

I also enquired at Tarnerland as I saw this recommended on an older thread, but they said we are out of their catchment area and would be unlikely to get a place.

Thanks

jollster Thu 28-Mar-13 06:15:28

Happy Days in Coleman St is long established and popular - I know of lots of happy children and parents who have used this nursery.

jollster Thu 28-Mar-13 06:16:54

oh and ditto the Phoenix at bottom of Southover - again I know 3 children who have been there and loved it.

brightonbug Thu 04-Apr-13 16:41:15

Thanks Jollster. I think the Phoenix only takes children over two?

I will contact Happy Days and see if I can visit.

Mcnorton Mon 15-Apr-13 13:17:01

Just to add, my son (now 4.5) went to Pepperpot, both the Baby Unit and the 'older kids' bit, and they were great, with lovely staff.

brightonbug Fri 19-Apr-13 15:37:49

thanks mcnorton I am visiting pepperpot next week, it is our closest nursery so would be v convenient

Lavage Wed 24-Apr-13 10:57:58

Happy Days is wonderful - lovely lovely staff and a very relaxed and happy feel. There is also the Orchard Day nursery at the top of Islingword Road.

sajaruss Fri 26-Apr-13 10:33:31