Local Talk

Help!!! Is Greenvale in Selsdon a good school?

(9 Posts)
farfromhawaii Sat 28-Sep-13 23:30:28

Hello,

Im new to mumsnet and hope I am doing this right...

I desperately need some advice.

We have put an offer in on a 3 bed semi in Selsdon Vale and hope to be moving from our 1 bed flat in East Croydon by school application deadlines!!

Our ds starts school next Sept and this move is all about catchment areas!

We cant afford a house in any catchment area for Gresham, Atwood, Ridgeway etc. Greenvale was outstanding until last ofsted and it is now slipped to good... I am also unsure about Selsdon as an area in general, and Selsdon Vale in particular (I believe it was nicknamed the bird estate)

Despite my dh having a good job and salary we just cant afford anything like a home in the areas we would choose to live. Either that or the schools are not good. So this feels like its our only choice and is a good one on paper...

The property we have offered on is right near selsdon nature reserve and is right near Greenvale School so all seems good. But is it? I can find very few people with an opinion one way or another about living in Selsdon and Greenvale is also often absent from school discussion forums which is odd since it was one of the few outstanding schools in Croydon.

I want to feel good about this move and the choice of school but I know nothing about the area despite living in east croydon for 15 years.

Your opinions and thoughts would be really appreciated, thanks guys

Ps. Sorry for any typos my phone's keypad drives me mad

SandersteadMum Sun 29-Sep-13 21:11:59

Hi, I visited it when we were thinking about schools a few years ago when it was 'outstanding'. We were out of catchment for it but did put it down as one of our 6 choices behind those we had more of a chance with.

I was really impressed with the school site and with the headteacher - I found her quite inspiring.