Local Talk

Experiences of breastfeeding in Enfield

(10 Posts)
rhubarbcustard Thu 02-Jun-11 22:19:13

Hello,

I'm a trainee Breastfeeding Counsellor in Enfield and I'm working on two assignments about the services and range of people that influence mothers' experiences of breastfeeding. I'd be really interested to hear from Mumsnet Mums in the borough about the the things that influenced their decisions about baby feeding. It would also be good to know which shops, cafes and leisure facilities you think are particularly breastfeeding friendly.

Any thoughts on this would be very gratefully received. If you'd be happy to be quoted in an essay (anonymously, of course) then please indicate this. Many thanks!

Halfbaked Wed 15-Jun-11 09:47:34

Hi
I have a DD aged 9 mo and gave birth at Chase farm. I am breastfeeding and found that I got good support at Chase Farm, but I was on the Ridgeway Midwife led unit. I had 1:2:1 help and they wouldn't discharge me until she was feeding. I had a fairly easy birth and from anecdotal experience I think this helped. I visited the breastfeeding clinic a couple of times in the beginning to sort out latch etc. the staff there were Very helpful. I did get the impression it was just for newborn babies. It's more advice, than a social group.
The visiting Midwife was great and very supportive, she continued her visits longer than ordinary as we got thrush in the second week.
I had generally good advice from health visitors at St Michaels when I got my DD weighed but didn't feel they had enough knowledge to support me. One health visitor gave me wrong advice, which as well as being upsetting could have detrimentally affected my supply. I phoned the breastfeeding helpline and used MN as I didn't believe what she had told me.