Local Talk

I need recommendations for good primary schools in Enfield..!

(5 Posts)
Lynnsky77 Wed 20-Nov-13 12:32:20

Hi there,

We're looking to move to Enfield in the next year and want to move somewhere that's in the catchment area of a good primary school.

Any recommendations are highly welcome!

Thanks smile

x

TenthMuse Wed 20-Nov-13 13:39:24

Hi OP, I'm a teacher in Enfield so will do my best! It's a big place, though, and quite varied, so it really depends on your budget - some parts are much nicer (and therefore much more expensive!) than others.

As in many places, the very sought-after schools tend to be church schools (in which case previous church attendance is important) or community schools in the more middle-class affluent areas. In the case of the latter, catchment areas are often tiny - about three or four roads in the case of Walker Primary in Southgate. There is quite a serious shortage of school places in some areas of Enfield, so you'll need to do your research and move as close to your chosen school as possible.

A few good options are:

Winchmore Hill/Grange Park - Quite an expensive/middle-class area but does have some more affordable pockets. Most sought after school is probably St Paul's, which is CofE, then Grange Park (huge but very good community primary) and Eversley. Merryhills is another option - academically it's not quite up there with the others, but it's a safe, solid choice with a reputation for being friendly and nurturing.