Local Talk

Does anyone know about the Exeter Montessori school?

(18 Posts)
duchesse Thu 16-Feb-12 01:46:50

I know the St Leonards one has shut, but does anyone know of any plans to reopen a new one anywhere in Exeter? I think I heard say that many of the staff of the shut one had gone to work at a daycare nursery that is not Montessori, but it would be nice to know if there are any plans afoot to reopen a school that goes to age 7/8.

Many thanks in advance!

katekitkat Thu 16-Feb-12 19:34:37

Hi, I am totally new to exeter but my daughter is currently attending the nursery that the montessori staff went to from st Leonards. It is called Scribblez and is based on Marsh Barton. I have no idea about any plans for a new school but I can say that although Scribblez is not Montessori accredited they are holding by its principles and have all the Montessori equipment available and are using it. Everything is nice and new looking and the staff there are making a huge effort. Although numbers are lowish at the moment, especially in the 3-5 year age group, it seems like it is filling up. The bonus to there being low numbers at the moment is that the children get lots of dedicated attention.

I hope that helps...

duchesse Thu 16-Feb-12 22:20:55

Thank you Kate, that is good to know. D already goes to a nursery 1 whole day a week- I wonder if I could send to a different one as well for another few sessions a week. I do so like the Montessori method but Marsh Barton is a terrible location for us to get to.

UniS Tue 21-Feb-12 23:18:55

There is a montessori school in chagford, about 15-20 miles west of exeter. Not sure there are currently any 7 yr olds attending, seems to be all preschoolers then they go to local primaries in yr R or 1.

duchesse Fri 02-Mar-12 21:04:59