Local Talk

Moving to Sidmouth/Exeter area - please help!

(18 Posts)
ladybay53 Fri 27-Jul-12 23:20:38

Sorry I'm new to mumsnet, not sure if I've posted this in the right area, so please excuse the duplication. We are looking to move to South East Devon and considering the Sidmouth area as a location (as we are currently land locked in Nottingham!). Can anyone give an insight to living in Sidmouth or villages nearby such as Newton Poppleford? We have a 5 & 9 year old, so need to consider primary (and secondary in the near future). Is Sidmouth College a good school? I know it's results aren't great, but it gets a good ofsted, so a parents' honest opinion would be great (and opinion of the primary as well). We have made a brief visit to the exeter area and although ottery st. mary has the good secondary school, we didn't love the place. As we're moving from a big inland city, we've decided that we would like to be as near to the coast as possible, but we have to consider keeping the children happy and not be too remote as we want to be near amenities/sports clubs etc. Any insight would be most welcome!

JUbilympiX Sat 28-Jul-12 00:14:26

We don't live in Sidmouth, but it does have quite a lot going for it. You might find it frustrating not to have a railway, and I gather the buses are a bit of a nightmare. You'll need to drive.

Primary schools are generally pretty shit around here, but we have some great secondaries. Although King's is in Ottery, there are loads of Sidmouth kids there, and you could have a stab at getting into Colyton Grammar which is selective and very good. There are buses to both schools but I can't remember whether they're schools buses or public buses; either way, there will be lots of other children so yours would not be travelling alone.

pickles184 Mon 30-Jul-12 10:26:37