Local Talk

New to the area

(89 Posts)
MogandMe Sun 24-Jul-11 23:11:34

Hi All.

I am new to Winchester and looking to make some friends.

DC 3.9 and I have been to several groups/activities in the area since moving but haven't yet found any friends (or people who want to talk to us sad )

Would be lovely to meet some others in the Winchester area.

new2winchester Mon 25-Jul-11 22:25:49

Hello,
I am moving to Winchester at the start of October and would love to meet some other people, especially other mums with babies/toddlers. My little boy is just turning one. Also any suggestions of any groups on Thursdays or Fridays or weekends gratefully received!
Thanks,
Liz

winkygirl Mon 01-Aug-11 12:05:23

MogandMe sorry to hear that you haven't met any friendly Winchester Mums. It can be a bit clichey at times but do persevere.

I have DD 5 and DS 3.5 and work part time so I do not do much in the way of groups/activities now. On Fridays I have been taking DS to Music with Mummy, Josie Dade in Stanmore. We LOVED the classes which are designed for 1 - 3 year olds. DS is starting 3/4 time with Josie in September which is music/drama and the next stage on from Music with Mummy.

A couple of years ago I found Christchurch Toddlers on Tuesdays and Fridays good. It is the big church on Christchurch Road near the uni/hospital. They have free-play then stories and songs. The organisers are very friendly.

MogandMe is your DC at preschool? Mine is starting in September and our preschool is asking for committee members so maybe yours would be too? I wish I had more time to do stuff like that but am promising myself I will join the PTA at primary school.

Final suggestion would be NCT. I was a member and there is plenty of stuff going on.

CurwySwide Mon 01-Aug-11 19:45:36