Local Talk

Moving to Hemel from South Africa

(2 Posts)
sheepy42 Tue 05-Nov-13 08:55:35

Hi there,

I am hoping for some advice. My husband myself and our three daughters currently aged 2.5, 4 and 5.5 are looking at moving to the UK. We are all on UK passports so all of that isn't a problem, and I myself schooled in York.

Hubby is in the events industry, a sound engineer, and I currently work in the administration field but am looking at trying to be a stay at home for the first two years or so. He has an ex colleague who settled in Hemmel, but they don't have any kids so for getting advice for area from them isn't ideal.

When we come over which will be in May / June 2014 we will be looking to rent furnished for a while, but I would very much like to try set up in the right area as far as possible to start with before we look at buying.

What area's would you all suggest I look at? Hubby will need decent access to get into central London, and I will need to be able to get all the kids into decent schools. We aren't "posh", I would describe us as being middle class, kids currently all in preschool and hubby and I both work, but we do live in a nice area called Bryanston in South Africa. I just want to make sure that we avoid any dodgy areas and so some advice would be great. (If anyone reading this is from Johannesburg, I know we could probably not afford a Bryanston equivalent, but would like something like Weltevreden...)

Also, any ideas as to mom's groups etc. to help us settle and get to know the community would be fantastic. I am currently using Right Move to get an idea of rental costs etc.

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Sheepy42