schools in Watford and the area

(6 Posts)
ValRin Tue 06-Sep-16 13:35:55

I am new to mumsnet so I hope this is the right place to ask and apologies if it is too long.
The main thing I am interested to know is: are there any recommendations to villages/areas where good state schools are not oversubscribed in Hertfordshire ?
We decided to move closer to my husband's new job in the summer. Part of the relocation package included rent while we sell our old house and find a place to buy. Being very naive (and despite living here for almost two decades not completely aware of UK schools system) we looked around for good state schools and Watford sounded promising- with so many good schools in the area, it can't be too complicated?? well...
We moved into a rented accommodation here and started to look for a house to buy and applied to four schools that we liked here and were in our catchment area. One of them just around the corner from us (Nascot wood).
Now the longer it took for the answer to arrive we started to worry. We received the final answer during the summer holiday and it is one of the worst options I imagined. I am not sure I should say the name of the school but after visiting it and interacting with the people I am sure this is not a school that would make my kids thrive. All other schools are oversubscribed and waiting list is long.
I am starting to think about any other options. Some are desperate measures like pay for prep school which I am not keen.
We are still looking for a place to buy but I am starting to look for other areas and thought I could use your help and advice. We are looking to buy at around £600,000 and prefer it to be in this area but not necessary.
Any suggestions?
Thanks,
Val

inthevillage Tue 06-Sep-16 17:51:11