Local Talk

Schools around Brixton (Leander Road)

(10 Posts)
leanderche Sat 11-May-13 16:21:37

Hi there,

We've recently moved to Leander Road in Brixton. We have a 1-year-old and as many parents do I'm sure, we have started to think about schools in the area. I am a teacher myself and work at a school in the borough. It's a great school, but we live too far from it to send our son there - both in terms of the distance to travel for my son, but also in terms of being out of the catchment area I am sure.

I am thinking about schools in the area and am getting worried. Sudbourne, Rosendale and Corpus Christi seem to hold fantastic reputations, but we live too far from all of them to get in (inexplicably as in reality we are so close to two of them). It seems Jubilee is the closest, but I'm dubious about it after looking at their previous levels of children reaching ARE at the end of year 6.

Does anyone have any advice about schools in this local area? I know I have two years before my son even starts nursery, but it is very much on my mind at the moment.

Thank you for your help!

tinastreasuretots Sun 12-May-13 09:15:43

Hi Durand academy is fab all my kids go their an they take from a wide area smile

CarveHerNameWithPride Mon 13-May-13 15:12:22

Have you looked at St Jude's? A mate on the other side of Brockwell Park is v happy there, but I don't know what the catchment/religious requirements are.

thomsc Mon 20-May-13 17:19:10

I live at the top of Leander, behind Elm Park. My two DSs are at corpus, one in Y1 other in nursery. It's a great school and we are very happy there. Both corpus and Sudbourne do get massively over applied for, as do most of the schools in the area. Obviously, as a catholic school, Corpus takes mainly from the congregations of the two churches it is associated with. Sudbourne is not religiously affiliated but is very heavily over subscribed. You may be close enough, depending on which end of leander you are, but probably not.