Local Talk

University study on child language development in Leicestershire

(2 Posts)
samjgreen Tue 13-Mar-12 15:39:10

Hello!

I'm a PhD student at University College London - but originally from Leicestershire (Broughton Astley). My research is on how children learn speech sounds; but I'm also interested in the language they hear from their parents/carers. There aren't many studies done on Leicestershire English, or much information available on the language development of children learning British English, which is why I'm keen to come 'home' to do my research.

I am currently looking for parents/carers with 12 month old babies to take part in my research. What that entails, is me coming to your house approximately every two weeks to video you and your child playing for one hour. This will continue for two years. At the end of this time (or during, in fact), you are more than welcome to have a full copy of all the recordings I have, which will document your child's development over two years, and also show the importance of your interaction with him/her in their language learning. Once your child is around 18 months old, there will be an additional task - a simple game for you to play with your child, taking approximately 20 minutes.
These tasks and recordings can take place entirely at suitable times for you - I will travel especially to record you and your child as and when you are available. Data will be transcribed and will look similar to the collection of data here on the CHILDES database.