Local Talk

Relocating to North West Region

(9 Posts)
feministmam1 Thu 21-Jul-11 23:52:11

Hi all, this is my first time on mums net. At the moment I live in Durham with my partner and son (8). I've just been offered a job in Prescot so we are relocating and we have no idea where to start looking!

I'd really appreciate any advice about good areas to look into. We're pretty flexible but I'm looking for a nice area for my son to grow up in, with good schools. Ideally I'd like to be within public transport reach of the city.

One last thing.......my new job begins on 1 September, so I don't have much time!!

Thanks!

gallicgirl Fri 22-Jul-11 00:05:31

I used to live in St Helens so not far away. IIRC Whiston and Rainhill are ok. Can't advise on schools unfortunately.

PS Avoid Parr.

plonker Fri 22-Jul-11 00:33:23

Yes, Rainhill is a decent area, Whiston IMO is less so.
Both have train stations so commuting is good.

Eccleston is a lovely area in St Helens, with a selection of good schools - it also has a train station for easy commuting.

A little further away are nice villages called Billinge and Garswood. Billinge in particular has good schools, but isn't directly on the train line (I don't think ...)

The other side of Prescot are Huyton and Roby. Huyton is a little hit and miss - some great areas, some not so great. Roby is nicer, but I don't know anything about the schools in either area, sorry.

Hope this helps - Good luck.

Ps. I completely agree re Parr! ...and would also add Derbyshire Hill, Earlestown and Fingerpost to the 'avoid' list.

Justtrying Fri 22-Jul-11 09:44:24