Local Talk

Parents of 11-17 year-olds invited to review website for research study

(3 Posts)
Alishamanc Mon 28-Jan-13 16:00:03

Hi mumsnet members,

I am a PhD student at the University of Manchester, looking for volunteers who are parents/guardians of children aged 11-17 years, and fluent English speakers.

We are evaluating an information resource that has been designed to help young people make informed decisions about taking part in genetic research. We're interested in the views of parents/guardians of young people, who are often involved in helping their children to decide.

You would be asked to review an online information resource that has been designed for young people. You would then be invited to provide feedback however is most convenient for you:

-In a focus group of not more than two hours, or
-In an interview at a location of your convenience, if around Manchester; or over the phone

You would be asked to give your views about whether you think the resource is a suitable way to provide young people with information about participating in genetic research. Neither you nor your child would be invited to take part in actual genetic research.

If you're interested in finding out more, please contact me, Alisha Gibson, by email [ alisha.gibson@postgrad.manchester.ac.uk ] or feel free to reply to this thread.

Focus groups would take place at the Nowgen Centre which is close to the University of Manchester, on Grafton Street, just off Oxford Road. You will be compensated for your travel expenses if you attend a focus group.

Thanks very much for reading!

Itsfabupnorth Tue 29-Jan-13 11:20:31

Hi yes I would be interested I have a 13 yr old, what though is the research subject?

Alishamanc Tue 29-Jan-13 12:37:36

Hi, thanks very much for your reply.