Local Talk

I'm new to norfolk and lonely

(15 Posts)
JjandtheBeanlovesUnicorns Wed 21-Sep-11 20:11:18

I grew up in near by bury st edmunds and struggled to make mum friends, none of my old friends have children and four years down the beaten track I'm feeling the strain.

I made one good mum friend and the move made things hard and now she's emigrating sad

Ds is 4 and just started school dd is 2.10 and so bored.

We moved into thetford in july and quite settled here but I'd just like to talk to some nice mums local to me, the ones at school all know each other <wibble>

joshandjamie Wed 21-Sep-11 22:33:34

I'm not near you at all but wanted to say that I know what that feels like. All I can suggest is that you try to invite the ones from school to yours for a glass of wine and see if any of them return the favour.

chesky Fri 23-Sep-11 11:54:07

I know how you feel, i live near Diss, and also find it hard to make friends with other mums. I have joined a few local groups, but find that the other mums can be very clicky

bellastella Fri 23-Sep-11 12:09:18

i'm in thetford! and i'm nice! moved here last june and it's a bugger to make new friends. i've got 3ds. ds1 is nearly 13 and at the north high school, ds2 will be 4 in two weeks and is at nursery every afternoon and ds3 is 4 months and the reason for no capitals (one-handed typing due to him having a bf!)
there are some nice groups, do you know about them?
wanna meet up for a brew or wine ? smile

JjandtheBeanlovesUnicorns Fri 23-Sep-11 20:04:44

Thanks for the replies everyone!

<Waves> hi bella, I'm so clueless about the whole area, just grabbed a time table for my local sure start today as dd is hopefully starting the nursery attached in new year for a couple of days to prepare her for school nursery in september.

Literally everyone at ds school knows each other all grew up here etc were total outsiders sad <wibble> and all go ss together, I'm such a wuss.