Local Talk

Moving to nottingham

(14 Posts)
enfru Mon 14-Mar-11 13:18:18

Hi, I'm new to netmums and will be new to
Nottingham by the summer as my family are moving from London. I was hoping someone would be willing and able to give me some advice on the areas we should be looking at moving to.
I have a 3 year old son who is due to start school in September 2012 so we need to make sure the area we're in is close to good nurseries and schools. The problem we're having is that we have no idea where any if those are! Any help would be greatly appreciated

Jackstini Mon 14-Mar-11 13:23:53

Depends if you want north or south notts and if there is anywhere you need to commute to. Want to be on bus or tram routes? Approx house budget/size needed?
There is a huge range of areas, may be easier for localsa to say where to avoid if possible although I don't want to upset anyone...
I am near Linby/Papplewick and would recommend for nurseries/schools and easy access to Nottingham & M1 if needed. (I have a 4 yo daughter & 2 yo son)
Feel free to ask any specific questions! smile

TorcherQueenie Mon 14-Mar-11 13:25:41

Wollaton would be good its a nice area with decent housing and schools otherwise Edna G. Olds primary in Lenton is very good. Lenton is mostly student property though as its so close to the Uni. Middleton Primary and Nursery School in Wollaton got some brilliant results from their last ofsted and the amount of GCSE passes is on average 90% or higher.

Mapperly is also a good area with very good non-religious schools if you're religious all of the catholic schools are amazing.

Stay away from the estates they're not so great I live in Bulwell and although I like my DD's school its not very good at challenging the kids and I look forward to her moving into Bulwell Academy at 11.

MrsKarteDor Mon 14-Mar-11 13:32:08

Hi enfru welcome to mumsnet wink

Depends on your budget, income, needs and expectations. Can you give more detail.

Happy to help if I can