Local Talk

Moving to south Oxfordshire and help needed!

(39 Posts)
lozwp Mon 03-Jan-11 21:27:49

Hiya all, I'm new to mumsnet and would love some help deciding where to move to in south Oxfordshire. (I've seen a few threads about moving to Oxfordshire on here, but I'm not sure they apply to the area we're looking at). My husband has just got a job in Abingdon and so we'll be moving there in February, but we have no idea of the good and not so good places to live confused.

What we're looking for: we'd like to live in a town within about 15/20 minutes drive of Abingdon (if not Abingdon itself) and we have a 1 year old daughter so somewhere with nice parent/toddler groups and parks etc would be fab. We are only looking to rent, but I doubt that has any influence on the area, no? I've had a look on a few estate agents websites and the areas that keep popping up are Didcot, Sutton Courtenay, Dorchester, Berinsfield, Clifton Hampden, Culham and of course Abingdon. Does anyone know about these areas? Or suggest other areas to watch out for?

Any advice would be hugely appreciated!smile

Saracen Wed 05-Jan-11 06:14:34

Only a vague secondhand recommendation from me, but all of my friends who live in Abingdon with kids think it is a great place to live.

For some of the other towns, look at the public transport unless you are going to be running two cars. It could make a big difference as to how well you can get out.

lozwp Wed 05-Jan-11 14:03:28

Ah thanks, that is good to know about Abingdon! And yeah I do want to be able to get out and about plenty so will keep p.transport in mind. Thanks again, it all helps!

Doogle2 Wed 05-Jan-11 23:39:40

Abingdon is a fab place to live and it has lots of toddler groups, pre-schools and family friendly cafes! My advice would be to look for a place in North Abingdon as the traffic in South Abingdon seems to be worse. The surrounding vilages are lovely but if you want to make friends quickly I would suggest moving to the town.