Local Talk

New to England; dumb questions about school system.

(8 Posts)

Hi, I'm new to Mumsnet and new to Oxford - we just arrived from Canada literally a few days ago because my husband is doing a postdoc here. I'm terribly confused by the educational system and have a few questions.

1. I understand reception year starts "during the school year he or she turns 5." But when does the school year start and end? Specifically, I have a child who will turn four in late August. Does that means she starts reception year this September or next September?

2. I understand there are grants for part time nursery school for children who are three or four, but how does one apply for one? Do you have to apply before the child turns three, or as soon as the child turns three, or would a four-year-old still be eligible to apply?

3. Are young children actually taught religion in state-funded schools that are tied to a church? We are atheists and would rather our child not be taught any specific religion, so does that restrict us to community schools?

Thanks so much for helping out a fresh-off-the-boat!

NickTheNanny Sun 23-Jun-13 22:50:41

Oxfordshire Schools: Admissions, Primary Infant-Junior

Oxfordshire: School Term Dates

The next school year starts 2 September 2013.
If your child's birthday is between 1 September 2008 and 31 August 2009 than they start school in September 2013.

I would suggest that you call the Schools Admissions Team 01865 815175 as soon as possible to find out how you can apply for a place.

2. The nursery education funding is done by the nursery or pre-school itself. The funding starts the term following the child's 3rd birthday. The nursery will get you to complete a form at the beginning of term.
I am not sure if you are able to get any funding now, given there are only a few weeks of term left. Ask the pre-school/nursery. More information