Local Talk

Help for unwanted dad [blush]

(14 Posts)
unwanteddad Wed 13-Oct-10 10:56:17

Hi, I'm new to mumsnet and yes, I'm a bloke! I am new to parenthood too. In fact my babies not due til next year. Unfortunately my ex-partner has decided that I am no longer needed. I think I may be allowed access to the baby, although it won't have my name and I won't be on the birth certificate.

But what I wanted to know was, if I am allowed access, is there anyone out there who gives classes for new dad's? I know very little about caring for a new born. So I would appreciate any help that can be offered.

Thanks for reading my post. I hope to hear from you soon.

unwanteddad

EauRouge Thu 14-Oct-10 10:23:44

Hi unwanteddad,

Sorry to hear about your situation You could try Simply Kidz, they have a lot of different classes.

You could also try a local surestart centre, there are loads all over the city and I'm sure they'll be able to recommend something.

unwanteddad Thu 14-Oct-10 11:17:15

Hi EauRouge,

Thanks for the suggestions. I will take a look at them. Finding the whole situation very difficult to cope with. I'm hoping things will improve as we get closer to the birth.

unwanteddad

slipperthief Thu 14-Oct-10 11:28:42

I went along to the NCT bumps & babies group in Peterborough a couple of times a few years back and they seemed like a lovely bunch. They might not be able to help directly but might have some suggestions. Or some of the other dads might be happy to get in touch.
nct peterborough

The SureStarts over here in north Cambs all seem to have Dads Saturday mornings. They might heelp too.

unwanteddad Thu 14-Oct-10 12:09:59

Thanks slipperthief

I think I will try some of these classes. As you say if they don't help directly, I'm sure some of the dad's will lend a hand.