Local Hospital Maternity

(7 Posts)
SnowBall86 Sun 18-Sep-16 15:47:01

Hi all, I'm new to Richmond area and mumsnet!
I'd love to pick your brains about your experience with local hospitals please. I'm currently 10 weeks pregnant and so far my choices are Kingston or Chelsea and Westminster. I couldn't find any recent reviews about either and only got scared by the number of horror stories. I'm looking forward to hearing your experience/advise/warning? Many thanks :-)

mikkii Sun 18-Sep-16 21:50:49

Depending on where you are in Richmond, there is also West Midd in Isleworth, I had all my three there. Fewer private rooms than Kingston, but much easier to access from the Hampton end

Nyborg Mon 19-Sep-16 12:56:01

I gave birth in Kingston two years ago - the staff were great but the facilities weren't, particularly the postnatal ward which was hot, bright and noisy. (In the interests of full disclosure, I would probably have been in a side room as it had been a tricky delivery but there were other mothers who genuinely needed it more on that particular day).

BowiesJumper Mon 19-Sep-16 19:52:55

I gave birth at west mid at the end of last year. I can't fault the care in pregnancy (straight forward pregnancy). The hospital was very busy on the night I gave birth but it was fine- lovely midwives. I didn't enjoy the post natal ward (horribly hot) but I think that similar in Kingston. My sister gave birth at c&w and it looked lovely when I visited!

Chahol79 Tue 20-Sep-16 12:33:42

I had my little boy two years ago at Kingston and they were great. It is very busy but that's because it's a very popular hospital to give birth in.
I couldn't fault them through what was quite a stressful labour and they looked after us brilliantly despite us getting the last delivery room on the night and them being very busy.