Local Talk

first timers in Sheffield

(8 Posts)
missy90 Sat 21-Jan-12 10:51:47

Hi there
I'm new to Sheffield and now new to pregnancy, is anyone else out there going through their first pregnancy? would be good to have other first timers to talk to smile
I'm still unsure of how you are supposed to write down your weeks but I'm 6weeks gone due in September.
Been looking at NCT classes etc (appreciate its still very early days for me) but are these things worth doing and are there any meet up groups /socials going on in the S17/S11 and surrounding areas?

Thanks!

Hulababy Sat 21-Jan-12 10:55:08

Welcome to Sheffield.

I also live in Sheffield, in S10, and there are quite a few Mumsnetters from Sheffield too, although most of them are on the main Mumsnet boards. The local boards are used but less frequently in my experience.

Sadly I cant help with the NCT classes, etc as my DD is now 9y, so it's a while since I needed pregnancy and baby groups, but hopefully someone with more information will be along shortly.

Just wanted to acknowledge your post and say hello!

NightLark Sat 21-Jan-12 11:00:55

Hi, I am also a bit out of date, but did do NCT classes in Sheffield, nearly 6 years ago now. The class I went to was really worth it, in terms of meeting people and having someone to talk to in the first weeks and months with a new baby. Plus just making the whole experience more 'real' somehow. It was held somewhere in S11 and had people coming from quite a distance IIRC.

Congratulations on your pregnancy!

manfalou Mon 23-Jan-12 13:29:57

I'm from Chesterfield so about 25 mins away from you =) I teach Lazy Daisy Birthing Classes. And also baby classes as great way to form continuity of care =) I do weekly classes, couples workshops and 1-2-1 sessions x Email me samantha@lazydaisybirthing.co.uk if you'd like a bit of info xx

www.facebook.com/lazydaisychesterfield

sleeplessinderbyshire Mon 23-Jan-12 13:37:27

I'd thoroughly recommend these classes