Local Talk

Schooling in Solihull

(3 Posts)
silentsteel Fri 13-Sep-13 10:00:48

Hi All,

I have asked a similar question in the Sutton Form and as Solihull is in the mix of my situation, I am bringing it up on this forum as well, hope someone can help.

I am new to the midlands area having spent most of my time in Scotland. Last year my work situation changed which means I have been spending most of my time in England, basically around the areas from Shropshire to Birmingham to London.

As this situation is likely to continue I am looking to see move my wife and 3 kids down, rent at first and then perhaps buy a place if we settle in. Hence I would really appreciate some help.

We are looking for decent 3/4 bedroom places to rent in an area which can offer us some of the following:
1. Good commute wise, my work takes me travelling hence I would like to be near M6 / Birmingham International or easily commuteable.

2. Good school area. My son has just started High School so moving here from Scotland a Grammer School is out of the question as he is above the age, but a good state school.

2. My younger children, Daughter who would be able to sit Grammer School test next year, however if she doesn't get selected would go to state school. My youngest is in Primary and is a few years away from High School or 11+ etc but we need a good Primary School recommendation.

I had originally thought of Sutton Coldfied area for renting as it is nearer to M6 however it is a bit of a distance away from Birmingham International should I need to go further down south or to London for work.