Local Talk

Raising bi/multilingual children

(3 Posts)
Gulee Sat 16-Mar-13 07:49:17

Hi dear mums and dads,

In this thread I would like to ask you to share your tips about growing bi/multilingual children. There is obviously no magic spelling to make one know several languages. It's a time-consuming job. It might be hard and quite confusing for some children to learn another language from early ages on even though one of the parents(or both of them) is a native speaker of that language.
So, how are you coping that?

Thespanishteacher Mon 06-May-13 12:57:56

I am a Spanish teacher in a Secondary school in Tower Hamlets and I teach many students who are bilingual and although they cope well they still need some extra support to develop well the language. Some of my private students have also mum or dad native speakers of Spanish and they still want me to help with gramar as they need more academical practise.

GoTowerHamlets Sat 11-May-13 23:57:32

Hi! I'm a mother of a trilingual child and have another yet to come. Each parent speak our own language to my DD, and then she is in a English public school. She mixes them up a lot, but the fact is she speaks and communicates perfectly in all three languages.
I am very steady and coherent in correcting her when she keeps saying it wrong, explaining the differences in the two native languages (Spanish and Portuguese - that are very alike) and many times she is the one that corrects herself after saying it wrong... Of course sometimes I just let her be, thinking she will eventually speak well every language in due time if she needs them for work or study. Yet what I am very, very, very strict about is so she does not speak English to us, and we never ever speak in English with her (except if we are with friends and everybody needs to understand, but then is automatic changing back to Spanish once I look at her)...