Local Talk

New to Wigan

(13 Posts)
welshdragon01 Mon 25-Jun-12 18:52:00

Has anyone given birth this year at Wigan maternity?

I am asking this for 2nd time as no one is responding to any of my postings.

ISpyPlumPie Mon 25-Jun-12 19:05:32

Not this year sorry. Did in 2009 though. Had a pretty good experience overall. I somehow managed to fluke a private room though and only stayed one night so didn't experience the post-natal ward first hand, and I have heard mixed things about it.

I'm considering a hb this time, but if that doesn't work out and I end up going back to RAEI I won't be too worried/upset about it.

When are you due?

Sasally Sun 01-Jul-12 10:40:31

Hi I'm pretty new to Wigan too. I am due 21st August with our first baby. I'm 34 and looking for friendly faces...

I'm aiming for a home birth but will end up at Wigan. I know a few people who have had babies there and not heard anything negative. I noticed a few comments on netmums about the ward being a bit dodgy... however no one has backed that up.

Good luck with everything - when are you due?

Ploom Sun 01-Jul-12 10:49:38

I lived in Wigan until 2009 & had 2 of my dc there. Realise its a few years ago but I had great care both times & found the ward & labour suites really clean. The ward was busy both times but I still got all the care I (and the babies) needed.

Hope it all goes well for you.

ISpyPlumPie Mon 02-Jul-12 21:46:15

Welcome to Wigan Sasally smile

PukeCatcher Sat 07-Jul-12 23:08:12

Me, me, me, I have - what do you need to know?

Bazyboots Fri 13-Jul-12 23:14:43

I had my first in Sept 09 and no complaints. I'm due on 30th Aug and am going back to Wigan.

TheDetective Fri 13-Jul-12 23:24:44

I'm in Wigan too, am due in November, but having a homebirth, am booked at Wigan though.

What were you wanting to know, anything specific, as I might be able to help!

ISpyPlumPie Fri 13-Jul-12 23:52:32