Beaconsfield/Gerrards Cross (Davenies / Thorpe / Gayhurst / state schools? etc??)

(21 Posts)
kpauley Mon 24-Apr-17 10:46:09

Hello and thanks in advance for any advice. We currently live in London (Portobello Road area; not the posh Notting Hill bit) and have been here for 6 years and don't even have a car (will actually need to sort out getting a license; had one in the US but it doesn't transfer here -- I've never driven over here, so that will be an adjustment).

Anyway, husband now works out in Bourne End and has been commuting a 1.5 hours each way so we are looking at moving out (which, to be honest, is stressing me out as I really love London and the walking and the markets, so it is very important to me to be an easy/quick train ride back in, which seems to indicate either Beaconsfield, Gerrards Cross or High Wycombe). I'm an author for children/teens and usually spend my days with my writing / crit group at the British Library or out at cafes. Stereotypical sounding, yes, I know, but I never get much writing done at home as there's always laundry...

Son currently goes to a mixed private school here in London that offers loads of extracurriculars though the facilities are lacking (it's London, after all). He is in year 4 now. He loves swimming and fencing and cricket, not so much football.

From what I've read, it would be hard to get him into one of the good state schools for September? Is that right? So I'm looking at the independent schools like Davenies, Gayhurst, Thorpe House. For state schools, maybe St. Mary & All Saints in Beaconsfield or Gerrard's Cross C of E? (we're not very religious at all, so I would also love to hear how heavily religious they are). Honestly, I just want him to have an easy transition as possible if we do this. He loves his current school. Any advice on schools at all? He's not a particularly sporty kid, but he does enjoy sports. He's very into computers.