Where to live?

(8 Posts)
Nicsywicsy Wed 18-Jan-17 14:56:06

Hi, newbie here so please be kind smile

We are moving to Devon in a few months, we need to be near Exeter for my son's new school and husbands commute. Obv we are visiting but there are so many lovely places to explore I could do with some friendly advice!

I would like to be within 20 mins of the sea and not isolated. I would like a lovely big garden though and not too far from a shop!
Thanks in advance for any ideas!

EggFlipped Thu 19-Jan-17 06:47:31

Look at Exmouth, Woodbury and Teignmouth.

What's your budget?

Nicsywicsy Thu 19-Jan-17 09:02:29

Thank you, am looking as we speak. We are moving from London so budget is ok for those areas I think!

StillNoFuckingEyeDeer Thu 19-Jan-17 20:18:01

Look at Topsham and Lympstone too

AdoraBelleDear Thu 26-Jan-17 15:06:11

Hi Folks,

My hubby and I are looking at relocating this year. Our budget to buy is approx. £250k. Hoping to start a family too. Was looking at the A303/A30 corridor. We are travelling down tomorrow to take a look at Honiton, Ottery St Mary and Exeter. Apart from those you've listed, is there anywhere else?

booklover79 Thu 26-Jan-17 15:12:00

Hi all, if you don't mind going a little further south, Bovey Tracy and Ashburton are very nice. 20 minutes from Exeter down the A38. In other areas, Starcross is nice; or the north side of Dartmoor, Moretenhampstead/Chagford/North Bovey if you don't mind being a little further out - although if you're coming from London then you may want to stay in a larger town!

Acorn44 Mon 20-Mar-17 21:16:17

Villages/towns to the east of Exeter are lovely, but expensive - Exton, Topsham, Lympstone, WestHill, Sidmouth etc. Good schools, but an older demographic possibly.

Villages/towns just off the A38 make getting to Exeter easier. Chudleigh is wonderful for families, lots to do but a community feel and is cheaper than the eastern side of the city.