Childminding enquiry

(6 Posts)
GrannyPeony Mon 17-Apr-17 12:31:19

Hello everyone.
I am really new to Mumsnet - just joined, and I am hoping for your help. I am a Grandma (so, obviously a Mum, but a long time ago). I have two grown up sons, one of whom lives in rural South Lincolnshire, nearest town is Spalding, with his wife and my two gorgeous grandsons. For many reasons my eldest son gave up full time work to become a full-time Dad when their second child was born, and my daughter-in-law returned to work full-time. This has worked very well. However, this year my youngest grandson will be starting full time school, and, naturally, my son is considering his returning to work options. They will really need a childminder, either for the pre-school morning and take to school session, or the after school pick up and keep until Mum picks them up - I believe he will be looking at part-time and/or shift work, initially. I live in mainland Europe now, so I am about as much use to them as a chocolate fireguard really, so this is my way of trying to help their looming dilemma. Obviously I want to protect their privacy and confidentiality - I have not told my son I am going to do this, but I am a Mum first and foremost and just want to be able to help them move to the next stage of their lives, and try to make his transition back into work slightly less stressful(!). I am hoping this network can point me in some positive directions. I believe he has made some enquiries amongst parents at my eldest grandson's, and my youngest grandson's nursery too. I think he feels if they actually lived in Spalding there might be a chance of finding a childminder, but he is worried that being pretty rural it is going to be hard/impossible. Any help, guidance, ideas would be really useful for me - I could then encourage my son to join Mumsnet, maybe, or is that not allowed? Thank you, in advance of any help.

YellowBellyCat Mon 17-Apr-17 13:56:07